WakeUP Wake County Staff



Karen Rindge, Executive Director          

Email: karen@wakeupwakecounty.orgTel: 919.828.3833

Karen has worked with WakeUP since its inception in 2006.  She spent 10 years in Washington DC working in non-profit advocacy and grassroots organizing and as a legislative aide to NC Congressman James McClure Clarke. She is a graduate of UNC-CH and the University of Zimbabwe. Mother of two, she volunteers in their Wake County schools.



Jennifer Dean, Grassroots and Membership Coordinator

Email:, Tel: 812.584.8151

Jennifer Dean started working for WakeUP in February of 2014.  She graduated from UNC Wilmington, where she studied Marine Biology, and she recently got her Master’s degree in Marine Affairs and Policy from the University of Miami in Florida.  Passionate about sustainability, Jennifer finds connecting with community members to be one of the most rewarding parts of working in Wake County.



Lynn Edmonds, Great Schools in Wake Coordinator

Email: lynn@wakeupwakecounty.orgTel: 919.559.9070

Lynn Edmonds joins the staff of WakeUP as Program Coordinator for Great Schools In Wake after years of volunteering with us. A North Carolina native, she graduated from Peace College in 1991 and has lived in Raleigh all of her adult life. Lynn is passionate about public education and has two children educated in Wake County public schools.

Board of Directors


Executive Committee:


Julia Lee Chair; Fundraising Committee Chair


Public affairs and marketing consultant; former Director in the Office of the Governor; Wake County Guardian ad Litem

Karen Kemerait, Vice-Chair; Water Committee Chair

Attorney, Styers, Kemerait & Mitchell; zoning, utility and land use law

Anne-Lise Knox Velez, CoTreasurer ; Finance Committee Chair


NCSU Graduate Student, Public Administration

Tom Rhodes, Co-Treasurer


Chaplin Rex Hospital; former Minister, Unitarian Universalist Fellowship of Raleigh

Daniel Kadis, Transportation and Land Use Committee Chair

President, Centrex Properties, Inc.; Partner, CommunitySmith, LLC; Board of Directors, Triangle Land Conservancy

Veronica Alcine

Raleigh Planning Commission; Owner of SHIFT Clinical Research

Will Alphin

Owner of Alphin Design Build; Local businessman

Beverley Clark

Mediator in Wake County; former SE Regional Attorney for The Nature Conservancy; former member Wake County Board of Education

Jay Dawkins

Entrepreneur/Owner of Cityzen online engagement firm

Amaka Flynn

Education & Training specialist and Contract Monitor, NC Dept. Health and Human Services

Frank Harmon

Principle, Frank Harmon Architect PA; LEED AP green architecture firm

Joel Rosch, PhD

Senior Research Scholar, Center for Child and Family Policy, Duke University

Gretchen Saussy

Business Development Director, Resolute Building Company

Nilesh Surti

Civil Engineer, NCDOT; Chair, SEANC Council; Garner Concerned Citizens

April Ward

Director of Accounting, Marbles Kids Museum




Board of Advisors


Cynthia Ball

Tom Bradshaw

Norm Camp

Larry Dickens

Abeni El-Amin

Greg Flynn

Anne S. Franklin

Greg Hatem

Bill Holman

Robin Hammond

Matty Lazo-Chadderton

Brent Laurenz

Don Mial

Paul Morris

Susan Parry

Phil Poe

John Shaw

Anna Stein

Al Swanstrom

Nina Szlosberg

Susann Wigger





Transportation and Land Use

Danny Kadis, Chair

Ross Massey

Nilesh Surti

Anne Franklin

Frank Harmon

Phil Poe

Henry Campen

TJ Crawley

Don Mial

Marcie Longo

Will Allen

Stuart Levin

Mack Paul

Jon Rufty

Jay Dawkins

Seth Palmer

Nathan Spencer

 Water Committee

Karen Kemerait, Chair

Robin Hammond

John Shaw

Teresa Hice

Caitlin Burke

Mary Brice

Tina Motley-Pearson

Lynn Ruck

Mike Ruck

Sarah King

Rob Gelblum

Salman Moazzam

Denny Murphy

Bob Trullinger

 Board Finance Committee

Anne-Lise Knox Velez, Co-Treasurer

Tom Rhodes, Co-Treasurer

Danny Kadis

Phil Poe

Yevonne Brannon

Karen Rindge

April Ward



Board Development Committee

Julia Lee, Chair

Yevonne Brannon

Robin Hammond

Beverly Clark

Frank Harmon

 Fundraising Committee

Julia Lee, Chair

Nilesh Surti

Beverly Clark

April Ward

Corey Branch

Fran Robertson

Sandra Simpson

Gretchen Saussy

Karen Rindge

Susan Hodges

 Education Committee

Yevonne Brannon, Chair

Beverly Clark

Joel Rosch

Amy Womble

Amy Lee

Ticie Rhodes

Adrienne Lumpkin

Karey Harwood

Patti Pilarinos

Lynn Edmonds

Susan Parry

Patty Williams

Executive Committee

Karen Rindge

Julia Lee

Danny Kadis

Karen Kemerait

Tom Rhodes

Anne-Lise Knox Velez